Industry and Inequality in Eurasia

Selected Research Themes

Debt and ownership:
How do debt, ownership and property relations mediate other forms of inequality?

Relatedness and genealogy:
What can family genealogies and questions of relatedness tell us about the reproduction of labour and inequalities in capitalist industrial regimes?

Risk, environment and health:
What are the relationships between bodily, environmental and financial risk in heavy industry?

Technology and skill:
How do skilling /deskilling, the production process and machinery generate relationships and hierarchies among workers?

Vocabularies of class:
How are relations of power conceptualized and articulated by people working in modern industrial environments?

Political struggles:
Which types of social and labour conflicts do working people engage in and what forms do the struggles assume?

Contact

Heads of Research Group:

Catherine Alexander
catherine.alexander@durham.ac.uk

Chris Hann
hann@eth.mpg.de

Jonathan Parry
jpparry@ndirect.co.uk


Researchers:

Michael Hoffmann
hoffmann@eth.mpg.de

Dina Makram-Ebeid
makramebeid@eth.mpg.de

Eeva Kesküla
keskuela@eth.mpg.de

Andrew Sanchez
sanchez@eth.mpg.de

Dimitra Kofti
kofti@eth.mpg.de

Tommaso Trevisani 
trevisani@eth.mpg.de


Associates:

I-Chieh Fang
icfang@gate.sinica.edu.tw

Christian Strümpell 
struempell@uni-heidelberg.de

 
loading content