Harald Müller-Dempf

Forschungsinteressen
Pastoralists, generation-sets, conflict, state formation, local government

Forschungsgebiet(e)
East Africa, southeastern Sudan

Mediathek

Akiyar Tokona
Afrika besteht nicht nur aus ökonomischen und politischen Katastrophen, und auch nicht überall sind lokale Kulturen sang- und klanglos verschwunden. Ethnien wie die Toposa im Südosten des Sudans leben dort zwar unter schwierigen ökologischen Bedingungen, aber sie haben sich bis heute ihre Lebensweise erhalten, und sie nehmen selektiv an, was die „moderne“ Welt zu bieten hat. Ihr Wirtschaften ist nachhaltig, und neben harter Arbeit gibt es auch Freude und Fröhlichkeit.

TOPOSA 1983 | Link zum Video

Das sozio-politische System der Toposa basiert auf einem Generationsklassensystem. In regelmäßigen Abständen begeht jede Generationsklasse ein nyakidamadam, ein Tanzfest, bei dem sie ihre Vitalität und Stärke zeigt. Der Film zeigt digital restauriertes historisches Super-8-Material. Interessant ist der Vergleich mit nahezu identischen Szenen in "Toposa 2008". | Autor: Harald Müller-Dempf | Spieldauer: 30 Minuten:

TOPOSA 2008 | Link zum Video

Szenen aus dem traditionellen Alltagsleben der Toposa, mit selten gefilmten Ausschnitten aus Generationsklassenfesten. | Autor: Harald Müller-Dempf | Spieldauer: 39 Minuten:

TOPOSA 2012 | Link zum Video

Der komplette Titel „Zu Hause bei den Toposa – 2012“ weist darauf hin, dass in diesem Film hauptsächlich Szenen innerhalb der Toposa-Gehöfte eingefangen wurden – ein eher intimer und ruhiger Film. | Autor: Harald Müller-Dempf | Spieldauer: 37 Minuten.

TURKANA 2011 | Link zum Video

Das Material zu diesem Film wurde 2011 kurz nach der Regenzeit aufgenommen und zeigt daher mehr die positiven Seiten des ansonsten eher strapaziösen Pastoralistenlebens. Dazu kommen Szenen aus der Hauptstadt Lodwar und aus Bewässerungsprojekten. | Autor: Harald Müller-Dempf | Spieldauer: 50 Minuten.

TURKANA 2014 | Link zum Video

Meine Feldforschung 2013/2014 thematisierte, wie die Turkana hybride Lebensformen zwischen traditionellem Hirtentum und moderner Marktökonomie entwickelt haben. Hiervon zeigt der Film einige Aspekte. | Autor: Harald Müller-Dempf | Spieldauer: 39 Minuten.

Zur Redakteursansicht

Harald Müller-Dempf

Research Interests
Pastoralists, generation-sets, conflict, state formation, local government

Research Area(s)
East Africa, southeastern Sudan

 Mediathek

Akiyar Tokona
These films do not show Africa as a continent ridden by natural and political calamities needing aid and development. Nor have indigenous cultures disappeared everywhere. People like the Toposa in southeast Sudan have kept their sustainable own way of life since long, and from the “modern” world they are acquiring selectively only what seems to be useful to them. Although they are living in a harsh environment with considerable hardship, there is peace, joy and gaiety in their life.

TOPOSA 1983 | Link to video

The Toposa socio-political system is based on generation-sets. In regular intervals each generation-set holds a nyakidamadam, a generation-set dance celebration, in order to show its vitality and strength. The film shows digitally restored historical Super-8 material. A comparison with some almost identical scenes in "Toposa 2008" may be of some interest. | Author: Harald Müller-Dempf | Length: 30 minutes.

TOPOSA 2008 | Link to video

Scenes from the traditional day-to-day lives of the Toposa as well as clips of some spectacular generation-set festivities. | Author: Harald Müller-Dempf | Length: 39 minutes.

TOPOSA 2012 | Link to video

The complete title “At home with the Toposa – 2012” already gives away that scenes for this film were filmed mostly inside the Toposa homesteads – a rather intimate and quiet film. | Author: Harald Müller-Dempf | Length: 37 minutes.

TURKANA 2011 | Link to video

The material for this film was shot in 2011 shortly after the rainy season and it therefore depicts more of the positive aspects of the otherwise rather arduous lives of the pastoralists. It also features scenes from the capital Lodwar and irrigation projects. | Author: Harald Müller-Dempf | Length: 50 minutes.

TURKANA 2014 | Link to video

My field research 2013/2014 focussed on how the Turkana developed hybrid ways of life between traditional pastoralism and modern market economy. The film exemplifies a number of aspects. | Author: Harald Müller-Dempf | Length: 45 minutes.

Go to Editor View