Emperor Haile Selassie I. His Burial and the Rastafarians in Shashamane, Ethiopia. A two-part Documentary

Haile Selassie Film Project (2016–2019)

The anthropologists Günther Schlee and Georg Haneke attended and filmed the burial of Emperor Haile Selassie I in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on the 5th of November 2000. The Haile Selassie Film Project enabled the project team to produce a two-part documentary with these historical film material and further recordings.
Team Members: Dr. Verena Böll, Dr. Ambaye Ogato, Robert Dobslaw

The main topic of the two-part documentary is the burial of Emperor Haile Selassie I of Ethiopia. Haile Selassie I (23 July 1892 – 27 August 1975) was officially buried only 25 years after his death. The ceremonies took place in the capital Addis Ababa on the 5th of November 2000. The highlight of the burial was the laying out of the sarcophagus on the square of the Holy Trinity Cathedral and the mourning service with Abuna Paulos. The first part of the documentary accompanies the burial and comments modestly on the background and circumstances of the funeral service.
The Rastafarian worship Emperor Haile Selassie I as God and Messiah. The Rastafarian, attributing their name on the first title (Ras) and birth name (Tafari) of Haile Selassie, only attended in minority on parts of the ceremony. Several Rastafarian are living in Shashamane, Ethiopia. Emperor Haile Selassie I granted land in Shashamane to the „Black people of the World“ as a thank-you present for their support during the Italian war and occupation (1935-1941). The second part points out the perspectives of the Rastafarians about the death and burial through interviews with Rastafarians in Shashamane, Ethiopia. Relatives of the emperor, representatives of the Emperor Haile Selassie I Memorial Association and of the Association of the Patriots also have their say (Interviews: 2012, 2013, 2017, 2018, 2019).

Haile Selassie Film Project

Videos for download

Part I: The Burial of Emperor Haile Selassie

Part II: Emperor Haile Selassie I and his ‘Burial’ – Perspectives of the Rastafarians in Shashamane, Ethiopia

Part I: The Burial of Emperor Haile Selassie I

The first part of the documentary accompanies and comments on the burial of Emperor Haile Selassie I of Ethiopia. He died in 1975 but was buried 25 years later. The burial took place in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on the 5th of November 2000. The burial lasted the whole day and was mainly conducted at three places: Meskel Square, St. George Church and Holy Trinity Cathedral.

By Verena Böll, Georg Haneke, Günther Schlee 
Length: 45 minutes

Part II: Emperor Haile Selassie I and his ‘Burial’ – Perspectives of the Rastafarians in Shashamane, Ethiopia


The second part points out the perspectives of the Rastafarians about the burial through interviews with Rastafarians in Shashamane, Ethiopia and relatives of the Emperor (Interview period: 2012, 2013, 2017, 2018, 2019).

By Verena Böll, Ambaye Ogato, Robert Dobslaw
Length: 49 minutes

Go to Editor View

Kaiser Haile Selassie I. Seine Beisetzung und die Rastafari in Shashamane, Äthiopien. Zweiteilige Dokumentation

Haile Selassie Film Projekt (2016–2019)

Die Anthropologen Günther Schlee und Georg Haneke filmten die Beisetzung von Kaiser Haile Selassie I. in Addis Abeba, Äthiopien am 5. November 2000. Das Haile Selassie Film Projekt ermöglichte dem Projektteam die Produktion einer zweitteiligen Dokumentation aus diesem historischen Filmmaterial und eigenen Filmaufnahmen.
Projektteam: Dr. Verena Böll, Dr. Ambaye Ogato, Robert Dobslaw

Hauptthema der zweiteiligen Dokumentation ist die Beisetzung von Kaiser Haile Selassie I. von Äthiopien. Haile Selassie I. (23. Juli 1892 – 27. August 1975) wird erst 25 Jahre nach seinem Tod offiziell bestattet. Die Feierlichkeiten finden am 5. November 2000 in der Hauptstadt Addis Abeba statt. Höhepunkt der Beisetzung ist die Aufbahrung des Sarkophags auf dem Vorplatz der hl. Dreifaltigkeitskathedrale und die unter Patriarch Abune Paulos zelebrierte Gedenkfeier. Der erste Teil der Dokumentation begleitet die Beisetzung und kommentiert zurückhaltend die Hintergründe und Zusammenhänge der Trauerfeier.
Kaiser Haile Selassie I. wird von den Rastafari als Gott und Messias verehrt. Die Rastafari, die ihren Namen auf den ersten Titel (Ras) und Geburtsname (Tafari) von Haile Selassie zurückführen, schlossen sich nur vereinzelt den Feierlichkeiten an. Einige Rastafari leben in Shashamane, Äthiopien. Dort hatte Kaiser Haile Selassie I. den „Schwarzen Menschen der Welt“ als Dank für ihre Unterstützung während des italienischen Krieges und Besatzung (1935-1941) ein Stück Land geschenkt. Der zweite Teil der Dokumentation veranschaulicht durch Interviews die Sichtweisen der Rastafari in Shashamane über den Tod und die Beisetzung von Haile Selassie I. Familienmitglieder des Kaisers, Vertreter der Emperor Haile Selassie I Memorial Association und der Vereinigung der Patrioten kommen ebenfalls zu Wort (Interviewzeitraum: 2012, 2013, 2017, 2018, 2019).

Haile Selassie Film Projekt

Videos zum Herunterladen

Teil I: Die Beisetzung von Kaiser Haile Selassie I

Teil II: Kaiser Haile Selassie I. und seine „Beisetzung“ – Sichtweisen der Rastafari in Shashamane, Äthiopien

Teil I: Die Beisetzung von Kaiser Haile Selassie I.

Der erste Teil der Dokumentation begleitet und kommentiert die Beisetzung von Kaiser Haile Selassie I. von Äthiopien. Er starb 1975, wurde aber erst 25 Jahre später bestattet. Die Beisetzung fand am 5. November 2000 in Addis Abeba, Äthiopien statt. Die Zeremonie dauerte den ganzen Tag und wurde hauptsächlich an drei Orten durchgeführt, dem Meskel Square, der St. Georg Kirche und der Dreifaltigkeitskathedrale.

Verena Böll, Georg Haneke, Günther Schlee
Spieldauer: 45 Minuten



Teil II: Kaiser Haile Selassie I. und seine „Beisetzung“ – Sichtweisen der Rastafari in Shashamane, Äthiopien


Der zweite Teil zeigt die Sichtweisen der Rastafari über die Beisetzung durch Interviews mit Rastafari in Shashamane, Äthiopien und Verwandten des Kaisers (Interviewzeitraum: 2012, 2013, 2017, 2018, 2019).

Verena Böll, Ambaye Ogato, Robert Dobslaw
Spieldauer: 49 Minuten
Zur Redakteursansicht